Finding an opening school/being a founding teacher

iblibrarian

Finding an opening school/being a founding teacher

Post by iblibrarian »

Hi all,
I'm a school librarian with 15 years experience, and I've helped design/remodel 3 libraries; I've found it's what I've really love to do. So I feel "done" with improving my current library (been there 6 years now) and I'm wondering how I go about finding an opening school and/or a school who's doing a major remodel of their library for the 2020/21 school year? I'm with Search, ISS and Carney & Sandoe, but I'm not sure if I'm missing somewhere to look for opening schools, or search terms I don't know about?

In a semi-related question, my husband is a classroom teacher (certified in social studies, 5-9 math and 6-12 gen. science), but he's never helped in the opening/founding of a school (and always being on the librarian side of it, I never had the time to pay attention to what the teachers are doing). So, I would appreciate if anyone had any insight I can pass onto him what he might be doing while I'm busy with furniture plans and vendors. Thanks so much for any insight you can give me!
PsyGuy

Response

Post by PsyGuy »

TIE will occasionally do a story or announcement of new ISs, and ISs will include in their vacancy postings if they are new (and if they arent its relatively easy to find out). There arent enough librarian vacancies on the circuit to really justify some kind of specific niche service like that. ISs advertise newly renovated libraries if anything not that they want too or are going too. Youre probably just going to have to have to cover the agencies and individually research each one to see if they are keen for a remodel.