Becoming a subject teacher at international schools. How?

Elysium82

Becoming a subject teacher at international schools. How?

Post by Elysium82 »

Hey guys,

The subject of this post is kind of vague. I have a BA in English and Spanish, plus I have just obtained my PGCEi (went down the British route of becoming an ESL teacher).

I have been working as an ESL teacher for 10 years, but I wouldn't mind studying a little bit more (online) and becoming an IT teacher. Googling the "how to become a subject teacher after a BA" did not help me much.

Has anyone done an online course that helped him/her become a subject teacher?

Cheers
PsyGuy

Response

Post by PsyGuy »

Well youve got 10 years experience, you could look at doing the AO route to QTS.

There are three US routes for a foreign applicant. You could do an EPP/ITT program through Teach Now. That will get you a DC professional grade credential, which is a 4 year renewable credential. It costs about USD$6K. Its a year of online/distance work while working in an IS for 3 months as your field experience requirement. You will also have to take 3 PRAXIS assessment exams as part of the program.

You could apply for a MA Provisional (entry grade) credential. This would require you to take two exams (MTEL) in addition to an NACES evaluation and a first/bachelors degree. It would effectively be a lifetime credential, you wouldnt have to renew.