Is only using Search Associates a mistake?

DomeVet

Is only using Search Associates a mistake?

Post by DomeVet »

Is only using Search Associates a mistake or am I really missing out by not using other services? If yes, is it because of missing out on specific posted vacancies or just having my resume and profile activated with another service for potential employers to view. And if so, which other services should I be using? I've been teaching for 20 years and know of other services and have old accounts but with not an abundance of time I'm wondering which services I should focus my attention on.
PsyGuy

Response

Post by PsyGuy »

SA repps the biggest database of ISs on the circuit. ISS is second, and if coin isnt an issue there will be overlap but there are ISs that are exclusive to one over the other. Then youve got TIE which is a nominal fee $39, TES is free, but heavy on BSs. Then you have Joy jobs ($39) which is small and CIS.

Most Iss that arent lower third tier, dont often search through candidate profiles. Its easier to sort though applications made to the IS. So unless your a superstar IT or the IS is a sinker, you arent missing much if anything from recruiters or leadership searching for you. What you are mostly missing is posted vacancies from which you arent applying for because you dont know they exist.
bounty

Re: Is only using Search Associates a mistake?

Post by bounty »

Yes it is in my opinion.
I used Search and got no job offers, despite messaging multiple schools.

I think most schools are moving to agencies now as they can recruit multiple staff in 1 swoop. Also all the agencies have the references and leg work done for the school, so schools prefer them too. I went to one interview for a school and they interviewed all the staff for posts in 1 day through an agency.

TES is very expensive. I heard 1 advert costs 1000 pounds a week?