Canada/China Relations

Bellicose

Canada/China Relations

Post by Bellicose »

I am a Canadian teacher that has been offered a job working at an international schools in China. I will be moving with my wife and young daughter. Given the current political climate between the two countries. I want hear from those living or recently have lived, in China. Do you think this would be a wise move? Is it safe at the moment? I feel like a lowly international teacher would be pretty small potatoes in the grand scheme of things. There are after all, thousands of teachers from Canada currently working in China. I would love to hear your thoughts.
mysharona

Re: Canada/China Relations

Post by mysharona »

I am Canadian and have lived and taught in China for a long time, the current diplomatic dustup has had no noticeabe impact on my life.
Bellicose

Post by Bellicose »

Thanks for your reply. It's much appreciated. I just want to be sure that I am making the right decision. It feels like a bigger deal when it involves bringing an infant daughter.
teach321

Post by teach321 »

I'm from the US, not Canada but feel very safe in China. I work with a few Canadians and they have never mentioned feeling unsafe or unwelcome. I have 2 young kids and would never take them anywhere I felt unsafe. In your day to day life, you won't notice the political issues at all.
Bellicose

Post by Bellicose »

That's good to know. Thank you!
PsyGuy

Response

Post by PsyGuy »