getting US teaching license

NatashaM

getting US teaching license

Post by NatashaM »

Hi everyone,
I read several posts about obtaining US teaching license but I'm still unsure if it applies to me and I would appreciate any feedback and tips. I have a Bachelor's degree in secondary education with a concentration in English language and literature from my home country (Serbia). that is basically a teaching degree for English teachers K-12. I also completed my Master's in Curriculum and Instruction from American College of education last year. I have been teaching internationally for 9 years, 4 years in Egypt and 5 in China. I've been teaching at a WASC accredited school for the last five years as an elementary teacher. So my dilemma is if I can get US license without doing TEACHNOW program cause of my work experience?! Is Hawaii my only option as being non US citizen.. Any suggestions and advice will be greatly appreciated!
PsyGuy

Response

Post by PsyGuy »

Its very possible you could get a US credential without doing Teach No (QTS through AO is also a possibility). There are a number of options, HI is one of them, but there are others. What you need to do at this point is obtain an NACES review of your Serbian degree qualification (which you may have already done for the ACE Masters program), the determining factor is going to be if the NACES evaluation says the Serbian degree is only equivalent to a First/Bachelors degree or if it is ALSO equivalent to a professional edu credential. If its the former than HI wont help you, the only route outside of a EPP/ITT program is going to be the CT experiential pathway, with your experience background you may get a CT provisional (professional grade) credential instead of initial (entry grade) credential. If its the latter than HI and a number of other options become available including the CA CLEAR credential using an intra-reciprocity route with HI.
NatashaM

Re: getting US teaching license

Post by NatashaM »