Moving from China to Europe - advice???

Andjelika

Moving from China to Europe - advice???

Post by Andjelika »

We are a teaching couple considering moving from Shanghai to Europe with our baby, probably in two years. We simply wish to be closer to home (Eastern Europe) now that we have a baby, and find a place more suitable for her in terms of schooling and environment. I'm an A level Economics/Business teacher with 6 years of IT experience, Master's in both Economics and Education, and US teaching license, while my husband is PYP teacher and Curriculum developer, with Master's degree in Curriculum Development. We don't need working visas for Germany (not sure what our chances are there), but we are considering all European countries, including Eastern Europe where our saving potential could be higher. I've read many posts about reallocation to European countries, and I understood that we won't be able to save as much as here. However, we would avoid moving to a place where we wouldn't be able to save anything. Yes, Germany offers good pension scheme, which is also something to take into account, but would there be anything left after paying all of those taxes?... So many things on my mind at the moment, but for now let's summarize it into these two:

1. Not sure what our chances are as non-natives in international schools in Europe. Any similar experiences or non-native colleagues you had?
2. Can anyone share their own experience when moving with the family, give any suggestion?...

Your help is much appreciated!
Thames Pirate

Re: Moving from China to Europe - advice???

Post by Thames Pirate »

1. Chances vary by school/region, but I have known many non-natives, so I'd reckon your chances are as good in Europe as anywhere. With your resumes I don't see why they wouldn't be good.