Seeking advice

straycat2019

Seeking advice

Post by straycat2019 »

Hello all,

I'm a relatively new teacher and I'm planning to apply/have already applied for international schools through ISS-Shrole. I would like to ask couple of questions.

A brief introduction: I'm Asian, a TCK (Third Culture Kid) received bachelor's degree at a univ. in the US and MA TESOL and TESOL teaching certificate in Asia. I have about 2-3 years of experience working as a full time teacher in a school and a private institution, and 5 years working as a curriculum developer for K-12. No IB/AP experience but I was an AP coordinator/SAT supervisor doing some admin things related to administering and organizing the tests. I have applied for several ESL/ELL/EAL teaching positions in Asia through ISS-Shrole but had no luck getting even an interview. Actually, I have started working on this since 2017 and managed to get some Skype interviews back then. Since I have not heard anything from any schools yet, I'm assuming that I have received bad reference from a recent supervisor from a school that I used to work. This is pretty recent reference that I have received from them. Would this affect me from getting even considered? I have already asked my supervising teacher and dept. head for references since they know me better but I'm so worried about all this and would like to ask for your advice.

Also, is there any way that I could get some kind of IB teaching certificate (or similar equivalent) to increase my chances for a international teaching job?

Any thoughts on what I can do at this point?
shadowjack

Re: Seeking advice

Post by shadowjack »

Hi Straycat!

Some advice. coordinating and supervising and administering and organizing the tests isn't a big highlight. You can use it to show organizational skills as one of your key skills on your CV, though.

Curriculum developer depends on for which company/school. It could be another key skill on your CV.