Job-hunting in Europe with a non-EU passport

teachertraveler

Job-hunting in Europe with a non-EU passport

Post by teachertraveler »

I've been teaching internationally now for almost 10 years, exclusively in Europe and have been at 3 different schools. Within the last 2 years or so as I've been looking for something new, I've found it really difficult to find openings for people with non-EU passports.

This is a dramatic change as in the not-so-distant past, this was not the case. Even schools I had previously interviewed for are no longer accepting applications unless you have an EU passport or current working papers for that country. I've seen several schools have openings for positions that are usually easy to fill stay open for months and it made me wonder how much of that was due to lack of qualified applicants.

As many international schools have English as their primary language and are seeking out teachers who speak English fluently or at a native level what happens now since as one of the few English-speaking European countries will most likely no longer have a seamless visa system? How will this affect recruiting? Any tips for teachers who want to stay in Europe but may have a non-EU passport?
PsyGuy

Response

Post by PsyGuy »

First, get an EU passport, thats really the best advice, anything less and your just playing the system like every other foreigner and expat.

Second, while Brexit will change the immigration and labor system with England, GB, UK and the EU, that system and whatever it is, is going to be easier, than the current system with the primary native English speaking regions of AUS, CAN, and the US. What that will mean is essentially a longer wait for UK nationals. ISs will first try to find a bilingual EU IT with high enough English proficiency but will then relatively quickly move to finding a UK national, which will still put UK ITs ahead of and before AUS, CAN, US ITs.
beanie

Re: Job-hunting in Europe with a non-EU passport