October - Too early to say "yes"?

OF2018

October - Too early to say "yes"?

Post by OF2018 »

I am new to this site, Search Associates and all that jazz. Is October "too early" to say yes to offers? I am a single, mid-30s, no dependents. I am in an entry admin role (coordinator) with 10+ but less than 15 years of international /IB experience (6 in the classroom, 7 in leadership). I have a master's degree in educational leadership. My last two schools have been top Tier 1 in two of the most "sought after" Asian countries. Right now, I am being offered a position in a Tier 1 school in Asia. I was looking to try another region but many would say that saying "no" to this school would be a surprising / shocking decision. I guess my questions are these:
- When is the "peak" hiring time for schools in different areas of the globe?
- When is the "peak" hiring time for the majority of schools? November? Early January?
- Do I have a good chance in Europe?
- Has anyone ever said "yes" this early in October, only to find out that the school they were waiting for all this time contacted them "later" in the game (e.g. January)? If so, what did you do?

Any tips, advice, info would be greatly appreciated :)
vandsmith

Re: October - Too early to say "yes"?

Post by vandsmith »

it's a roll of the dice, but if you were already at a top tier school (or whatever) then i am assuming money isn't your motivating factor?
it really comes down to what you are looking for. october is traditionally "early" but who's to say what's early if the job checks all your boxes?

the peak time is december and january, in my opinion. it's more related to the contract and when you need to tell your current boss if you're leaving or not. in europe, this can be as early as october and as late as may!
yes you good chance with that experience in europe.