How do your kids/students adjust with a 95% local/5% North A

Lmartin106

How do your kids/students adjust with a 95% local/5% North A

Post by Lmartin106 »

Newbie here. ..I’ve been offered a position in an intriguing city in China with a fantastic salary package. My only concern is that 95% of the school population is made up of local Chinese students. My 10 & 12 year old will be part of that small 5%. I was hoping for a school with a more international population but this position is too interesting to not give it strong consideration. Although the kids are flexible, adventurous and accepting, I’m worried this could be a too challenging. They have never lived abroad. Have any of you parents been in a similar situation? How did your kids handle it? Teachers- from your perspective, how does this play out in your classroom? Of course, all kids handle things differently, but I’d love to hear any and all perspectives.

p.s. This forum has been wonderful for a new IT beginning the adventure of a lifetime. Thank you for all the solid advice!
wrldtrvlr123

Re: How do your kids/students adjust with a 95% local/5% Nor

Post by wrldtrvlr123 »

Experiences will vary wildly obviously. If it was in the ME I would advise giving it a pass as there are many horror stories out there about bullying, western kids being isolated, harassment, etc.

The same type problems can happen anywhere but may be somewhat less likely in China. It often seems that the older the children the more significant the issues can be with teenagers getting some of the roughest treatment. Again, in China, this may not be as true. My personal experience in China as a parent and teacher is in schools with a little more balance and the problems seemed to be fairly minor with most students seeming to find their group of friends, Chinese and Western. And, for good or bad, Westerners can be seen a little more positively in China than in the ME (to risk an over-generalization).