Workload

GLOBAL_TEACHER

Workload

Post by GLOBAL_TEACHER »

Hi

I just moved to Europe after spending 15 years teaching in Asia. I am an experienced MYP/IBDP teacher and examiner, and have worked in 5 international schools before. I am finding the workload here in Europe WAY BUSIER than any of my schools in Asia. Is this normal for Europe or is it the (supposedly good) school I am in? It seems the deal is pretty weak here and doesn't compare to Asia. Any advice would be great. I have 6 preps and 2 of these are exam classes - it is almost impossible teach MYP and DP properly.

Do schools in Europe generally work teachers more than in Asia?
fine dude

Re: Workload

Post by fine dude »

Depends on the type and size of school. Tier 1s in Switzerland have a reasonable workload and a lot less work/stress than their counterparts in SE Asia or China.
National

Post by National »

It all depends on the school. I’ve worked in both Europe and SE Asia and the workload was so much more in Asia. School size, organization , timetable, etc are all going to affect your workload. 6 preps seems extreme.
Thames Pirate

Post by Thames Pirate »

I'm at a European school that is generally considered a tier 1, and the workload is super easy. 4-6 preps with 1-2 exam classes is the norm, but it really can mostly be accomplished during the working hours with maybe a bit of marking on weekends. I would consider this a low workload (relatively speaking) job and a very low workload compared to my schools stateside. A previous school in Europe was the same number of preps but the workload was insanely high because so much time was taken up with "stupid" stuff and the nature of the schedule. The contact hours at current school are way lower.

So I would say the workload you are facing is neither usual nor unusual.
PsyGuy

Response

Post by PsyGuy »