Changing teaching genre to ESL

tommypizza

Changing teaching genre to ESL

Post by tommypizza »

I need some advice on how to become qualified to teach ESL in an international school based on my experience...

20 years teaching experience (not in ESL)
10 years international teaching experience
1 year teaching for VIPKID

I'm back in the USA but not currently teaching in a brick and mortar. We are looking to go back overseas in the coming years. I am a certified teacher and I want to be an ESL teacher in an international school. How do I become qualified? Is it enough to get an online TESOL/TOEFL or CELTA cert.? or do I need a degree in teaching ESL with certification? or do I need an endorsement on my current license? I could certainly rank these as far as effectiveness but I have significant experience overseas and plenty of years under my belt...that's what makes me wonder if I can simply get an online cert to be qualified.

Also, do you see any need for the CELTA over the TESOL/TOEFL?

THANK YOU!
PsyGuy

response

Post by PsyGuy »

You dont even need an online certificate. In the hierarchy of education credentials a CELTA/DELTA is below that of a professional educator credential. A CELTA is fine if your teaching an Eikaiwa or Hagwon Your objective is to work in ISs not in ESs, and as any IS they are going to want ITs with professional credentials.

The easiest and more marketable approach would be to add an ESOL endorsement to your current credential either directly by assessment (PRAXIS) or transferring your credential to a region that does have an assessment pathway to additional endorsements (it may be the time to consider a jurisdiction that doesnt require PD).