Long Term Planning

justlooking

Long Term Planning

Post by justlooking »

I've been teaching in a high school classroom for 20+ years- 4 different countries, 6 different schools. I'd like to transition into either counseling (social and/or university admissions) or the library. I have U.S. teaching certification, a masters degree in literature and, as I said, 20 years of experience including IB and AP.

I still love the students and my subject. I just feel like I can't do another 10 years of marking and planning.

What would be the best way for me to get credentialed as either a counselor or librarian? I don't plan to go back to the U.S., so whatever is accepted readily in international schools would be best. Ideally most of the work would be online so I can do it from my current location. Would appreciate any guidance or suggestions. Thanks in advance.
PsyGuy

Response

Post by PsyGuy »

Which one would you prefer because library is much easier to get credentialed in.

For librarian you want to apply to Mississippi (MS) for the 5 year reciprocity license (Professional Grade) then you complete the PRAXIS Library/Media exam, and apply for the endorsement. You can then transfer the MS credential to NJ for a Standard credential, NJ credentials have lifetime validity and no PD requirements.

All of the counselor routes would be a lot more work and more complexity, but since you dont really care as long as you get out of the classroom, none of them are as efficient to obtain as librarian.
shadowjack

Re: Long Term Planning

Post by shadowjack »

You could do Bambi Bett's CTC - runs courses in Miami and London over summers. One year I calculated I could have done all my counselling courses and received my counselling accreditation in one summer, but busting my butt to do it.
PsyGuy

Post by PsyGuy »

@SJ