Joining ISS

Alexandru

Joining ISS

Post by Alexandru »

I'm starting to think about the next school year, and I'm wondering if my qualifications are suitable for finding a job through ISS. I'm a single, young, American, male, elementary teacher with a Bachelor's and a Master's in educational fields. I also have a teaching license from the United States. I have been teaching for five years, exclusively in American international schools. I would like to teach in Latin America or Eastern Europe.

With my qualifications and experience, is it worth the money to sign up with ISS? Or should I sign up with Search or TIE? I would rather not spend the money to go to any international teaching fair or even pay to sign up for a school database, but I've heard that applying to schools through ISS, Search, or TIE is better than just sending an email through a school's website.

Any advice is appreciated!
Thames Pirate

Re: Joining ISS

Post by Thames Pirate »

TIE, Search, and AASSA would be your best bets. However, if you are just looking to apply directly, don't bother with Search. Schools don't actually have a preference of independent vs. agency applications, and if they do, it is probably for the independents because they don't have to pay agency finder fees. However, databases are invaluable as a place to upload documents and references, but more importantly they allow you to see job postings you might not have considered.
Nomads

Post by Nomads »

Alexandru,

If you have the financial means, I would advise registering with both ISS and Search. If you can only afford one, I would go with Search as they are used by more schools. You can also post your resume on TIE for low cost.