Experienced EFL Teacher looking for a quick US Cert

jkubok2

Experienced EFL Teacher looking for a quick US Cert

Post by jkubok2 »

Longer question here, sorry, I'm a US citizen, been teaching EFL for 10 years now all over Asia and Eastern Europe. But I only have 3 years full-time K-12 experience (in Japanese public schools), the rest has been in private language schools, colleges and with the British Council (BC). I was a teacher mentor for the BC to Malaysian primary school teachers for a year and half, but wasn't actually teaching English, just observing, etc. I have a CELTA cert (2012) with the BC and a BA in English from the U of Illinois (2006). I'm currently in Tokyo teaching in a vocational college so I cannot do my student teaching while here unless I found another job. I just took all 3 PRAXIS generals (and passed) and I'm about to do my PRAXIS II ESOL and ELA content exams here in Tokyo. I've been accepted into a partially online teacher's training program (TTP) in my home state of WI and planned to receive my initial teacher's cert there, I haven't paid for the course yet though... looking at the coursework...it all seems pretty useless and expensive. It actually doesn't matter what state I get certified in for now because I'll probably be going to the UAE next, but will eventually land in the US or Australia permanently (my spouse is Australian).

I've searched this site and others and I've read lots of opinions. I like what @psyguy has to say so I hope that he'll chime in. I was hoping to get a definitive guide on how to get an initial US certification without taking a teacher's training course. Is it even possible? With just my experience, degree, exams, etc?