Bachelor and teacher cert versus Bachelor in Education ?

missy

Bachelor and teacher cert versus Bachelor in Education ?

Post by missy »

Is it just me or are more schools looking for teachers with a Bachelor in Education ?

I have a Bachelor degree (in another subject) plus my teacher certifications (which I completed by doing additional course work). Are my qualifications not as good as someone with a BA in Education in today's world of international teaching ?

Just wondering if things are changing....
IAMBOG

Re: Bachelor and teacher cert versus Bachelor in Education ?

Post by IAMBOG »

I have a BA (four years) and a B.Ed. (equivalent to 1.5 years, but squashed into 12 months). This seems to be the most common route into teaching where I did my qualification. There are also four year B.Ed.s, but I don't know anyone who went that route. Typically people do a subject based bachelors followed by a bolt on B.Ed.
expatscot

Post by expatscot »

I think some countries are funny about it - if you have a degree relating to a subject not relevant to your teaching qualification (eg a degree in engineering but a teaching qualification in primary teaching) there would be a degree of explanation needed - I've heard about this being a problem for Dubai?
vandsmith

Post by vandsmith »

i could see it being an issue in middle and high school.

i can only speak for canada but i know a bunch of people who took a 4 or 5-year B.A./B.Ed concurrently. my major areas of study for my BA have no bearing on my BEd - unless i wanted to get certified to teach older kids, in which case i would have to ensure i have a couple of teachables.

i haven't heard of anyone having issues as long as their teaching credentials are up to date and from a reputable, recognized school.

v.
PsyGuy

Response

Post by PsyGuy »