Offer vs. Offer, which would you take?

coffeeman65

Offer vs. Offer, which would you take?

Post by coffeeman65 »

I'm new to IE. 2 years of experience teaching in the US and a full teaching license. This recruiting season I was offered a spot at two good, but very different schools.

Offer 1: In Asia.
Pros: Good OHS package, good savings potential in a relatively developed country in a relatively large city. Two year contract. School seems to be organized.
Cons: Doesn't offer AP or IB curriculum.

Offer 2: In northern Europe.
Pros: IB curriculum
Cons: Very small rural city, small settling in allowance, no OHS, only 1 year probationary contract (can be extended if they want to). Less savings potential. School seems less organized.

Now, I started teaching later in life, and I'm single, and late 20's early 30's. I have some debt I'd like to pay off from student loans. My ultimate goal is to get to WE or Japan, but I'm ok with waiting and saving for a few years first. Which offer would you choose and why?
senator

Re: Offer vs. Offer, which would you take?

Post by senator »

You don't provide enough information for me to offer any suggestion or opinion.
coffeeman65

Post by coffeeman65 »

senator wrote:
> You don't provide enough information for me to offer any suggestion or
> opinion.

To put it more simply - is getting initial IB experience worth putting up with all of the other cons I mentioned, given the goal of eventually working in WE/Japan. There's less pay, less savings potential, etc. but if it would really keep my options open and improve my CV considerably more than the other school I'd consider it.
martalin

Post by martalin »

Considering how a lack of IB experience has limited my options thus far, I would definitely choose to gain it.
senator

Post by senator »

You could be dead next year. What good would that IB training do?