Search Associates Internship, anyone?

jayee

Search Associates Internship, anyone?

Post by jayee »

Hi! I was wondering if anyone has done an international teaching internship with Search Associates? Could you tell me about your experiences and whether or not you've found it helpful in applying for jobs afterwards?
Monkey

Re: Search Associates Internship, anyone?

Post by Monkey »

I did it many moons ago, and overall it was a very good experience. I did it straight out of college, with my new teaching cert in hand. At the time, I didn't know I wanted to pursue IT long-term, so I wasn't worried about future prospects. I just wanted an awesome year in Western Europe. My position as an intern was as an early childhood TA, and since the teacher knew I was a certified teacher myself, she was open enough to turn it into basically a co teaching situation. Not all interns do this. Other interns work in the office, or work as subs, or hop from one role to the next depending on the day and the need. Each school handles the role of an intern differently.

I don't know if the internship really helped my career, but I had a lot of fun! At the end of the year I wanted to stay on, but couldn't do so as a full-time teacher because I lacked 2 years of experience. So I went back home, taught for a few years while getting my M.Ed. Then I hit the IT circuit again. Maybe the internship helped me get my first full-time IT teaching gig, or maybe it was the M.Ed + years of experience in my home country that did it.