Do we have a shot?

ecd1986

Do we have a shot?

Post by ecd1986 »

Trying to get a feel if my husband and I have a shot at any decent IT positions. He does not have a teaching certificate (although he could get one) but has a bachelor of fine arts. He is currently the head of ceramics and visual arts/teaching faculty at a community art center. Not sure if it's helpful, but he has a decent amount of solo and group exhibits to give him some credibility as an artist. I taught first grade for one year, prek for another and have a masters in curriculum and teacher leadership. I'm in my 4th year as a Dean of Curriculum at a k-8 school, where I function primarily as a teacher coach, oversee data and assessments and write kindergarten, first and fifth grade curriculum and manage a team of 25. I have a PK-3 teaching license. No international teaching experience, but I did a three month internship at a school for children on the autistic spectrum in Jamaica. We also have a 5 year old daughter. We're pretty open to location but would prefer something outside of a major city, if possible.
We've been looking at SE Asia. Is it too late to get started for 16-17? Realistically, are we qualified for anything decent?
National

Re: Do we have a shot?

Post by National »

Everyone always has a shot, but being realistic, I wouldn't say the odds look good for landing a job in a good school for next year.

What is going against you:

1) Your husband needs to get certified as a teacher.
2) Your husband needs experience in a school. A community art center is not the same as a school.
3) You have no extended classroom experience. Early elementary is a saturated field and you've only done two years, each at a different level. Few schools will have a full time position for an elementary curriculum director, especially given that you've probably not worked with the systems in place in most international schools (such as IB PYP).
4) Neither of you has any international teaching experience.