Passive Aggressiveness in IS

twoteachers

Passive Aggressiveness in IS

Post by twoteachers »

I'm still in my first year of teaching overseas after 15 years in the states. I'm noticing a lot of passive aggressiveness among teachers. Is that the norm? I'm someone who doesn't mind saying what I think. I've literally witnessed teachers talking under their breath about someone else right in front of them. I find that in itself kind of rude. What have you seen?
sitka

Re: Passive Aggressiveness in IS

Post by sitka »

It is like any other group of people - you get the whole spectrum from awesome to less-than-stellar.

And then depending on region, you place them in a fishbowl.
chilagringa

Post by chilagringa »

The staff at my current IS is FAR nicer than my public school last year. So probably just depends on the place.
PsyGuy

Response

Post by PsyGuy »

Passive aggressiveness is more common in IE, as there are fewer protections afforded to ITs. They are passive aggressive because they cant be boldly aggressive and keep their jobs. You cant tell another IT your dead to them and never step foot in your classroom again to their face without a realistic risk to your job. You have to talk about them behind their back and give them the cold/distant treatment in the veiled interest of being "professional", to do otherwise could have considerable repercussions. In a public/regulated (DS) environment there are unions, and policy complaint procedures either at the institution or local authority level, that typically treat such behavior between staff as either insignificant (even if its true its not sufficient to warrant more then a reprimand or warning) or the burden of proof comes down to he said/she said and leadership is limited to giving them the team work speech.
senator

Post by senator »

You are absolutely right.

One of the reasons I left IE. Little children in adult suits.
wrldtrvlr123

Post by wrldtrvlr123 »

senator wrote:
> You are absolutely right.
>