Acceptance of Teacher Ready/Teach Now certification?

TesolTime

Acceptance of Teacher Ready/Teach Now certification?

Post by TesolTime »

I'm an experienced ESL instructor with an MA in TESOL. I have been teaching in South Korea and now China for about 9 years, but I need to make the change to teaching in ISs. When I do, I want to teach math which I feel will make me more competitive. The problem is that I don't have certification, but Teacher Ready and Teach Now could help me with that. My question is has anyone heard of teachers being turned down for jobs or even being let go for having certification done through online courses like these? I thought that I could increase my marketability by student teaching in a DODEA school. I also read one post about some people who have had success with it, so it looks like it could be okay to do.

Thanks for your help.
PsyGuy

Response

Post by PsyGuy »

Its not uncommon for upper tier ISs to avoid alternative certified ITs especially early in their careers or with minimal experience. However, this is inclusive of all ACP programs in general, not just Teach Now or Teach Ready.

Field Experience in DoDDS will not increase your marketability in IE, field work in an IS is more valuable. Aside from that DoDDS accepts few student teachers and the process is far more complicated and convoluted, and in practice is generally available too those who have a military connection.
TesolTime

Re: Acceptance of Teacher Ready/Teach Now certification?

Post by TesolTime »

Thanks for the info, PsyGuy.
shadowjack

Post by shadowjack »

Get the certification, get the experience and references, work your way up and you will do ok.
Nomads

Post by Nomads »

TD,