Career Strategy and Planning - International Schools

Carl

Career Strategy and Planning - International Schools

Post by Carl »

Hello all,

I'm a new teacher and am going to graduate with my teaching qualification in July this year. I will be qualified to teach 7-12 Visual Arts, Visual Design, Ceramics and Photography. I'm single with no dependants.

What would be the best career strategy focused on eventually attaining a top tier international job?

From reading the forum, I gather there is a consensus that new teachers are preferred to have local experience before going international and that top schools want teachers to have IB experience. I've also read that schools don't want to see on your resume that you have changed jobs every year and that you are non-committal.

Therefore would the most efficient strategy be;

2 years local experience, then;

3 years at an international tier 2/3 non-IB school, then;

3 years at an international tier 2 IB school, then;

a shot at the tier 1 (and elite/premier) IB schools?

Is 8 years total experience sufficient to be considered for the tier 1 jobs?

Is it possible to be a candidate with less than 8 years experience?

I'm looking for the most direct route to access the better/more desired schools in the IT jobs market.

One of the problems of even attaining the 2 years full-time local experience initially is that full-time positions, or full-time contracts in many of our home countries such as Australia (where I'm from), Canada, New Zealand, Ireland are in short supply and hard to get. I'm considering to go to the U.K. to get an initial 2 years full-time teaching experience as there seems to be many more full-time jobs available there than here in AUS.

Can any experienced teachers chime in on their thoughts and advice?

Cheers
shadowjack

Re: Career Strategy and Planning - International Schools

Post by shadowjack »

UK would be a good and challenging place to get your first two years experience, plus get QTS :-)