Is this a good package for Tokyo?

beachbride

Is this a good package for Tokyo?

Post by beachbride »

Hi, all!

I'm hoping some who are familiar with the cost of living and international school expectations in Tokyo will be willing to give me some input. I have been offered a package at an IB school in Tokyo. However, with it still being quite early in the recruiting season, I'm not sure whether it is competitive enough to take, or if I should hold out to see what other offers come my way.

I am currently in my tenth year teaching with experience both internationally and in the US. I have my masters in educational leadership and have experience as a language arts coordinator/department head and as a technology integration coach, as well as experience teaching multiple subjects in grades 2-10.

I've been offered 490,000 jpy per month (before taxes) with 100,000 jpy per month housing allowance for an MYP position. I would also receive 500,000 jpy as a one-time housing establishment allowance and a 250,000 jpy relocation allowance. In addition, I would receive up to a 15,000 jpy allowance each month for transportation.

I will have my husband with me as a trailing spouse. The package does not include flights, etc. for my husband. However, they will take care of his visa.

Thoughts? Would this be a package in which we could live comfortably and still save a bit as well? From what I've gathered online, it seems like an "average" package...but I would love to hear from some who have firsthand experience!

Thanks in advance!
wrldtrvlr123

Re: Is this a good package for Tokyo?

Post by wrldtrvlr123 »

Hi. My personal insights on the cost of living in/near Tokyo are a few years old. That being said, I would characterize the offer as good but not great.

This recent thread had some further information.

http://internationalschoolsreview.com/v ... f=1&t=4698