Honest thoughts?

SammaBama

Honest thoughts?

Post by SammaBama »

Hello all! I have been interested in international teaching for several years now, and have finally decided to go for it next hiring season. I would love to teach in Europe, but from things I have read it would be difficult to get hired at a decent school with a livable package with no IT experience. I am hoping some of you could offer completely honest opinions about my chances. I have certs in early childhood and elementary, and a Master's in elementary ed. I have been teaching for 5 years and have experience in 1st, 4th, and 6th grade. I am single with no dependents (though if possible I would like to take my cat, though I know that will seem ridiculous to some). I plan to attend the UNI fair this coming winter.

I am also open to suggestions for non European schools. My main priority is safety and social opportunities within the community (and I do know Europe is not a guarantee of either).

Any thoughts would be very welcome.
Last edited by SammaBama on Wed May 14, 2014 9:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
curiousme

Re: Honest thoughts?

Post by curiousme »

Not really sure what you're aiming for. You want to work as an ICT teacher in primary or secondary? You want all ICT or you want a co-ordinator role? The latter is more likely but you don't mention your ICT experience or expertise. Very hard to comment.
SammaBama

Post by SammaBama »

Sorry, by IT I meant international teaching. I have fixed my original post. I am looking for an elementary or primary position. Though my elementary cert is technically k-8, it has been my experience that most schools require a middle grades endorsement for 7th or 8th grade.
shadowjack

Post by shadowjack »