Salary/Cost of Living in Europe

nikujaga

Salary/Cost of Living in Europe

Post by nikujaga »

I've been offered a job in Western Europe. I don't want to say where for fear of outing myself.

I'm a single American elementary teacher in my late 20s. I've taught at an international school in the Middle East for the past two years using the Common Core (American) curriculum.

The new school caters to mostly local kids. It's PYP. I think it would be a good career move... I hear so many good things about PYP and I know a lot of schools are looking for experienced PYP teachers.

I'm working at a third tier school in the ME now and easily saving half my salary. When I accepted the interview with this new school, I was expecting the salary to be low, but it's even lower than I expected.

Is 20000 euros without accommodation enough to live on? Obviously this varies country by country. But in general, for the more expensive countries in mainland Europe, what do you think? I don't have any debts back home. If I accepted the job, it would be for the experience, both personally and professionally.

What do other schools that hire relatively inexperienced teachers pay?

For what it's worth, it's a dream location. Thanks for your input.
Cailin

Re: Salary/Cost of Living in Europe

Post by Cailin »

Is this your salary before or after tax? It seems low to me. It really depends on location. Western Europe includes capitals and smaller cities. Are you willing to share accomodation? I doubt you'd be able to afford a single place on that salaryeven with a long commute to work. . Best bet would be to ask to be put in contact with a current teacher at the school. Alternatively, google 'cost of living in XXX. There are websites that will give you some idea of costs of appartment etc.
wrldtrvlr123

Post by wrldtrvlr123 »