Aspiring teacher and possible paths to take

sarahny

Aspiring teacher and possible paths to take

Post by sarahny »

I’m an aspiring teacher and researching my options on which path to take towards teaching abroad. I’ve read through many resources and forum posts but since requirements change with the times, I am concerned some of what I’ve read may now be outdated or there may be new opportunities. I wanted to get some feedback on three paths I am considering.

Background info:
- I have a bachelor's in graphic arts (serves its purpose but not exactly useful for teaching).
- I am starting a CELTA course in the next few months.
- I am in the process of applying for a MAT in Elementary Education program. If I am not accepted, I'm going to start on the TESOL path. If I do get accepted, I need to start thinking about which option to choose.

Path one: Teach English abroad, do alternative teaching certification (like TeacherReady), possibly do an online Master’s, and work my way into an international school.
- Practical experience: CELTA, English teaching, teaching fieldwork/internship
- Time: Can start TESOL this year; time to int'l school unknown
- Notes: Lacking a Master's and experience, getting into an int'l school requires a great resume, connections and luck.

Path two: Stay where I am for the next 1.5 years, get my Master's in Teaching and an initial teaching cert. Aim to go abroad either as an English teacher or start applying to (lower tier) international schools.
- Practical experience: CELTA, student teaching
- Time: At least 2 years
- Notes: Difficult to get a position as a newly-certified teacher, but not impossible.

Path three: Stay where I am for the next 1.5 years, get my Master's in Teaching and an initial teaching cert, then get another two years of experience (maybe while getting an additional cert like SPED) before attempting to go abroad.
- Practical experience: CELTA, student teaching, full-time teaching
- Time: Minimum 4 years