PYP/MYP/IB

teacher9

PYP/MYP/IB

Post by teacher9 »

I've been encountering a problem in my job hunt again and again and again and again...

I'm an elementary teacher with a solid resume, good references, and experience with inquiry based learning. I want to work at a PYP school, but every school I talk to refuses to hire teachers without PYP experience. How is anyone able to get PYP experience when all of the schools refuse to hire people who don't have it? Is anyone else coming across this problem? How do you get in the club?
neveah

Post by neveah »

I am also a newbie. I've done some research and this is what I have learned. I hope it helps.

Since you don't have experience, it might help if you were trained to teach IB. You can look on the IB website and find out if they have any workshops in your area. I don't know what the IBO link is, but I'm sure you can find it by using a search engine.

Apply for a job with a school that does not have an IB curriculum, such as a private school.

It is still early in the year, so many schools are still recruiting. If you have the time and the money, you can wait for a few months. If some schools still have vacancies during the spring/summer, they become desperate. They will be more flexible and bend the rules.

Keep asking everyone for information. If one person won't hire you, ask them "Who do you know, who is looking for someone with my qualifications?"
educator

PYP schools

Post by educator »

Agree with previous responses and also suggest you contact Search Associates, Chiang Mai branch, since they focus on recruiting for IB / PYP schools. Prepare yourself for a job fair though.
neveah

Post by neveah »

I have heard that Search Associates is not a reputable recruiting agency. Does the Chiang Mai branch treat the teachers fairly?
Healy

Post by Healy »

Where did you hear that Search are "not reputable"? What did they (not) do?
mexteacher

The integrity of Search Associates

Post by mexteacher »