Going to a fair- what do you tell your school?

chipmunk84

Going to a fair- what do you tell your school?

Post by chipmunk84 »

Hi

I'm new to the IS scene and was wondering what I should tell my current headteacher about attending the London Search fair in January. Do people generally ask for leave of absence?

Thanks
inman

Post by inman »

Unless you're somewhere that is going to take it really personally, as though you're turning your back on the school or something, then I think it's good just to be upfront about it. A lot of international schools allow "recruitment leave" of about 2 or 3 days, as it's just a reality of the situation that everyone needs to know very early on that they're not returning. They hire people through fairs so they expect people will go to them again when they leave.
Briz

Post by Briz »

I scheduled a meeting with my HOS, sat down and talked for 45 minutes. He made the case for me staying at school, but was wise and understanding about my situation. He helped me get my recommendations, and even left a back door open that if it isn't working at the fair to come talk to him, as he would rather I stay. In the end I talked to a recruiter he had used in the past and decided to go to both search and ISS because I would have to miss school anyway. The hardest part about leaving my school is having a head who will actually try to see it from my perspective. So my advice is just go talk to them and be honest about your situation. Professionals will not take it personally!
skonamaj1

Post by skonamaj1 »

Most schools will not grant leave for these fairs.
eion_padraig

Post by eion_padraig »

Sign #54 that you're at at crappy international school - They won't give you time to go to a recruiting fair.
PsychBean

Post by PsychBean »