Moving to Shanghai????

tdaley26

Moving to Shanghai????

Post by tdaley26 »

At about this time last year I was a US teacher who had just accepted a position at an international school in Shanghai (Pudong). I was given a lot of good advice and tips from people on this forum and I thought I would post to say that if anyone is presently in the same boat I was........ ask away!!
tdaley26

Post by tdaley26 »

As far as personal effects go, everything that you would expect to find in a typical western department store can be found here. If you are particular about specific brands of say, toiletry items, then best bring some from home.
My school is very well resourced, so bringing teaching supplies was not needed, other than making scanned copies of some resources that I knew I would use. Most major airlines have good connections to Shanghai, it kinda depends on where you are flying from. I used Hainan from North America because the baggage allowance was better and the fee for extra bags was lower.
Food safety: Generally the western style supermarkets are safe. It's the local wet markets that can sometimes be sketchy, some of them I won't even enter, but others I go to all the time for meat and veg. For a time we stopped eating chicken, but have now been told by our Ayi that it is safe again. In the US we had the occasional food scare also. High quality goods are more expensive here than in the west. High end electronics, designer label clothing, top quality shoes etc are all imported from the west and so are more costly. The Chinese tend to mass produce lower quality items, so the cheap Chinese stuff you used to buy at walmart is even cheaper here.

Tips:
1. Unless you are single get an Ayi and have her cook for you. This sounds like an expense, but actually will save you money. Plus coming home to a cleaned apartment is awesome.
2. Develop a tolerance for crowds. Shanghai is a busy busy place.