Turning Myself into a Math Teacher

Helen Back

Turning Myself into a Math Teacher

Post by Helen Back »

Currently I'm a grade 7 generalist overseas and I have a geography degree. Next year I will be teaching grade 7 science and math only. I am quite happy about this, as this is what I enjoy teaching the most.

Now I'm thinking perhaps I should up my qualifications in math. I could go one of two ways; I could do a masters in math / science education or do a few undergraduate math courses. I quite like the idea of doing undergrad courses as I can do them at my own pace. I wouldn't be aiming for a particular time scale, but would aim for doing 30 credits over the long term.

I have no intention of going beyond grade 8. What would give me the greater advantage, doing a masters or accumulating additional undergrad courses?
AnnieT

Post by AnnieT »

I do not think that doing a few maths courses at UG level will help much, schools will be looking for a maths qualification.

The MA will open many doors later in your career, but would take longer to do.
grumpy

Post by grumpy »

To be clear, do you have a Master's degree in any subject? If you do, then undergraduate courses would be fine. If you do not already hold a Master's degree, I would get one. Math being a great field in which to do so.
CaliPro

Post by CaliPro »

The main 2 things that are important are your certification and experience.

I am doing a ACP for my mathematics teaching license. I only have a business degree though, so I will have some more hurdles to overcome than you.

Can you not just study yourself, and do an add on license for middle grades math? I would do that.

Then later on I would get my Masters in Administration.
Helen Back

Post by Helen Back »

My certification is K-12, it is not subject specific, so there is no need to get an extra license where I come from.

I don't have a masters. I have a four year BA Hons and a 18 month B.Ed.