English/Writing teacher looking for job. Any suggestions?

jrm

English/Writing teacher looking for job. Any suggestions?

Post by jrm »

Hello everyone!
I am an English and Writing teacher who is looking for a teaching job. I have high and college teaching experience.
I am overwhelmed with looking for a job. I am beginning to derail because of some of the reviews about some of these schools.
I thought China might be an option but pollution would kill me. I have asthma.
Then, I thought of the ME and realized that I am a single woman who doesn't like to told by a man that I can't drive because of some backward idea that I am not a person, but property. Forget that nonsense. I could just see myself plucking some man's beard because he told me I need to obey him.
So, any suggestions? Any advice on where to stear clear of?
Thanks!
shadowjack

Post by shadowjack »

JRM - you need to do more research. The only place women cannot drive in the Middle East is Saudi Arabia. All the others, women can drive. Oman might be your best bet - search out schools there - it is the most 'unspoiled' - in economy, tradition and customs, and environment.

Good luck!
mamanaia

Post by mamanaia »

Jrm, just something to think about, if you have asthma, dust from desert winds might aggravate you too. I have a friend that had difficulties in the ME. There are still several places around the world where you would be fine. Just keep checking various job posting websites.
sid

Post by sid »

This seems like a belated April Fool's joke.
Your post comes across as close-minded and prejudiced, qualities which it seems you would prefer to avoid in others.
Please do not come to the middle east unless you are prepared for a lot of learning.
jrm

Post by jrm »

Sid, you could not be more wrong about me. I am just asking because I am not as informed about some places in the world.