A newbie got a job

bibounde

A newbie got a job

Post by bibounde »

Just to give some hope to all newbies: I am a newbie, and I have been hired by a 1st tier school (according to people on this site). So Yes, a newbie getting a job in an international school that can happen. I might be lucky or be the exception, but I believe you just have to keep looking, and persevere.

Finding a job in an international school was a full time job for me and I spent an entire month in front of the computer (luckily, I was in between jobs and it was christmas). This website has been invaluable to me as a source of information. And I couldn’t thank enough Pippafrit, shadowjack, psyguy, and all the others for their posts which helped me a lot.

The advices I would give is to keep looking even when you don’t have a single answer. Do register with Search Associates (it made a massive difference. I had no answer until I registered. Then I was able to know exactly which schools were considering hiring newbies, and finally got some feedbacks). I was ready to go anywhere, in any kind of school in order to get a first experience. That counts. You can’t expect the best for a first job (I was just extremely lucky). Many people left the fair without a job, but hadn’t applied everywhere because they had set their mind on a specific location or type of school.
In my case, attending a fair was worth the cost as I got my job there. But then not everyone leaves with one…The atmosphere at the fair was good. Everyone (recruiters, staff, and teachers) was friendly, supportive and full of advices. I made good friends. Just a great experience.
If you decide to attend one in the future, read Pippafrit’s post, everything you need to know is there, it’s just brilliant:

http://internationalschoolsreview.com/v ... light=fair

Best of luck to everyone who’s still on the market.
shadowjack

Post by shadowjack »

LOL Pippa - you beat me to it!