Sharing my job-hunt experience with SEARCH

SunshineTchr

Sharing my job-hunt experience with SEARCH

Post by SunshineTchr »

Hello all :-)

I'm relatively new to the forum side of ISR, and I've found all of your posts so helpful. I thought I'd share my experience trying to find a post through Search Associates in case it's helpful to anyone (and to get some support along the way too). I haven't read too much from Music/Drama/other Arts teachers, so I'm also reaching out to any others out there.

My background:
US degree, US certified in Music K-12
2 years in US schools, now in my 3rd year at an IB World School in the Caribbean
1 full year of PYP, 2 years of MYP and 2 years of DP

Family status: Long-term unmarried partnership

This is my first year being registered with Search Associates, and it is my main source for job opportunities so far. I've reached out to schools which appear solid academically, strong arts programme with good savings potential. It's a bonus if the country's immigration and/or job market is conducive to my unmarried partnership - while this is a bonus, this is not necessarily a deal-breaker. I have no intentions of rushing to marry for immigration benefits and am willing to be creative with this piece of the puzzle.

I will be attending the Cambridge fair next week and will gladly post daily updates (provided anyone is interested!)

So far, I've had a couple schools reply showing interest in interviewing me at the fair. I've Skype-interviewed with one school not attending the fair, and will have another e-interview early next week with a school which attended the London fair, and is now filling the spots they have left. School#1 seems fabulous, only drawback is no real chance of local opportunities for my partner, so will see what else I can find. Looking forward to interview with School #2 - they are ideal in every way.