Job Fair tips for n00bs.

craniac

Job Fair tips for n00bs.

Post by craniac »

I'm new to the international schools teaching scene and will be attending the San Francisco job fair in February. I've submitted my application materials at ISS, but am fairly clueless about the whole process of working the fair and signing up for interviews.

I'm a tenured English professor with four kids, so I'm not sure if I'm that hirable, to boot, and would imagine we'd have to buy tickets for some or all of the kids if someone picked me up.
heyteach

Post by heyteach »

There are some very detailed threads about the whole fair process; look for the ones with London, Toronto, or the word "fair" in the title, especially those started by Shadowjack, Pippafrit, CDN (apologies if I left out other excellent OPs).
PsyGuy

Post by PsyGuy »

ISS is a lot more laid back then SA fairs, you could call it "casual".
Are you certified? I take it you have a trailing spouse and four kids?
Honestly, your going to end up very frustrated and disappointed with the ISS fair. Your way too expensive of a hire to fill an english classroom, and many recruiters are going to consider you a teacher tourist. You dont see many bottom tier schools that it wouldnt make a difference at, but the upper tier schools wouldnt consider you an investment worth having, sorry. If you have any hope of the EU youd starve with 4 kids and a trailing spouse.
craniac

Post by craniac »

Thanks for the help, I've located some useful threads. I'm fairly certain I can get up to a three year leave of absence from my institution, so I suppose that might still qualify me as a tourist. My spouse is in the middle of a Master's degree and has done a lot of work at writing centers. We would be fine with the Middle East, as well as the EU and Asia.
heyteach

Post by heyteach »

There were several teachers at my previous school that were on leave from their U.S. schools, so it does happen (and no, they were not considered vacation teachers).