Vientiane International School

maggiedaly

Vientiane International School

Post by maggiedaly »

First time I've used a forum, so no idea how to get a name!?
Has anyone worked at/heard anything about VIS?
23 teachers; school is looking for 13 neew teachers next academic year.
thanks for any help.
maggie
jeffofarabia

vientiene is

Post by jeffofarabia »

i haven't been to the school but the city is interesting. kind of laid back, like the rest of laos. they are a small school, so information might be hard to come by. of course, if you love southeast asia you will love it anywhere in that area. i would go.
guest7

VIS

Post by guest7 »

How do you now they are looking for 13 teachers? Usually openings for next year are not posted until later.

Until this year, John Ritter was the superintendent and did a fine job. This year he has left, so I do not know
bluemoonraker

V.I.S.

Post by bluemoonraker »

I realize this thread is a bit stale, but if you are still out there I am a teacher at V.I.S. I'm leaving after this year, but can tell you that Vientiane is a lovely place to live and the school community is vibrant and supportive, the families mostly a mix of NGO/development workers and UN or embassy staff. Lao is a lovely country rich in both cultural and environmental resources but very poor if you are an economist. Vientiane is the world's smallest capital city, so traffic and pollution are still minimal, yet there are delicious restaurants and many interesting destinations within and without the country. Not much nightlife but great for families.

The school itself is in the midst of tremendous change, in candidacy for PYP and DP at the same time. 07-08 is likely to be a year of lots of hard work implementing these programs and that could be very exciting... but definitely challenging. The package is generous especially given the low cost of living here.