Are there really *that* many horrible schools?

KellyGuy

Are there really *that* many horrible schools?

Post by KellyGuy »

In reading through the ISR reviews of schools, especially just going through the newest reviews, I have the impression that about 90% of international schools are absolute hell to teach at. What gives?

Sure, there are a few excellent reviews out there of well-known top-tier schools, or reviews that only list a few minor complaints, but a great many reviews seem to end with "do NOT come teach at this school if you know what is good for you".

I have little experience with this--the school I am at is my first school, it had only one review on ISR when I accepted the job, the review was positive and I really like teaching at this school.

OTOH a colleague who also started this year taught at a school in Thailand that has awful reviews, and she seemed to enjoy teaching there.

What is going on here?
gus

Post by gus »

ISR Reviews are ofter written by people who are leaving a school and often leaving b/c it hasn't worked out for them or they are not happy with something. I have worked at two schools that I have enjoyed and the majority of the faculty are really happy but have a couple of bad reviews...and everyone on staff can tell you who wrote them.
antitravolta

Post by antitravolta »