Just Starting Out

andyleblanc

Just Starting Out

Post by andyleblanc »

Hello everyone. My wife and I are very interested in taking our 3 younger chldren and teaching abroad. We are doing it for the experience and know it will be very beneficial to our kids to experience all that a foreign land has to offer.
We just stared looking into the idea over winter break. I am hoping that the combined experience along with the nice people willing to help on this forum could get us pointed in the right dirction. I will list the questions so its easiest for you all to navigate but a little background first.
I have been teaching high school social studes in the states (we live in GA) for 12 years. I am AP Human Geography and AP World History certified and have 3 years of online teaching experience. I have a masters degree and am certified by GA to teach broad field social studies and broad field science....though I hate teaching science!! I have also coached sports of various kinds all my years teaching
My wife has also been teaching for 12 years. She is an elementary school teacher and also has a few years of experience outside the class in more of a combination of teaching and administration type job (math coach and IP/Enrichment/Instructional Coach). She has a ton of leadership role experience in various ways. She also has several years of coaching experience in basketball.
We definitely prefer Europe and probably not to many other places since we don't want too much of a culture shock for my kids and wife. soooooooo

Are we good candidates for an international school job in Europe?

Are we too late in the process for next school year?

We have gone through the process of signing up for Search Associates (haven't submitted money yet), good idea to join?

I don't even know about a lot of these abbreviations being used or level of schools, any help with these? WHat should we focus on?