ISS Bangkok Fair for someone not already contacted

morningcalm

ISS Bangkok Fair for someone not already contacted

Post by morningcalm »

Hi everyone,

If anyone has some advice here, and PsyGuy, I'd really love to hear your take on this, I would be most grateful.

It's my 4th year internationally at a small school and am going to the ISS Bangkok fair. I've got 8 years of teaching experience in the public system and have been a MS/HS (from 6th-algebra 2) math teacher for 4 years now. Had one interview with a top school recently that didn't go anywhere--must polish my skills there!--but no bites otherwise. Two kids with a non-teaching spouse (who is certified to teach but not in American/Canada etc.). Masters degree in ed technology and some conference presentations.

Questions:

1) If one has been turned down, are other top-tier schools going to likewise turn one down? Top admins know one another etc.

2) Is it only the middle east and parts of Asia that are realistic options here?

3) Given 8 years experience as a "generalist" teacher (of math, English, science, and other subjects, every year) and 4 at a smaller 3rd tier international school in East Asia, am I going to be competitive at ISS Bangkok? Should I compose an animoto etc to highlight myself. Been reluctant to do that?

I'm registered to go, flight, hotel etc., but am having second thoughts. I'll practise my interviewing but would like some feedback from the forum if possible.

Many thanks!
wrldtrvlr123

Re: ISS Bangkok Fair for someone not already contacted

Post by wrldtrvlr123 »

[quote="morningcalm"]Hi everyone,

Questions:

1) If one has been turned down, are other top-tier schools going to likewise turn one down? Top admins know one another etc.

2) Is it only the middle east and parts of Asia that are realistic options here?