Please help formulate my long-shot plan...

Jonquil

Please help formulate my long-shot plan...

Post by Jonquil »

Hi everyone,

Thanks for everyone's contributions to this amazing forum! I've read a lot of the replies, and I totally understand that I'm not an attractive candidate for the most part, but I'd like to give it a try this year, if only to get a feel for the process in the future.

So...

- Single, female, no dependents, late 20s

- American passport, education, and teaching license

- BA from Notre Dame (not well known overseas, I know)

- MAT from a regional state university, 2010 (Secondary Ed)

- Teacher certification from State of Oregon; endorsements are secondary Social Studies and Middle Level Multiple Subjects (the latter allows me to teach grades 5-9: math, LA, science, SS...the only areas that are proscribed are the specialty areas---art, music, PE, special ed, reading)

- No experience that would count, from what I've read. I'm in my third year of post-certification, public school subbing. I had a long term subbing assignment for about a semester...I taught AP U.S. History, senior economics, and regular sophomore history, and have a nice letter of rec from it. I've coached high school Mock Trial for three years. (If I could get an interview that didn't start with "So...do you coach basketball? Do you coach volleyball? Do you coach soccer? Do you coach bowling?" I think I would die happy, job offer or not!)

- I would be open to working anywhere, except maybe the Gulf. I really, really want to be a full-time teacher; that's my priority. A fun culture and environment would be nice, of course, but I'm used to entertaining myself.