Savings Potential and Safe

nkraai

Savings Potential and Safe

Post by nkraai »

I am a male elementary teacher with six years of teaching experience along with my masters, all in a high performing school district in Colorado. Besides living in Hungary for a short period of time, and doing volunteer teaching in Rwanda, I don't have any international experience. I am looking for specific countries/cities/schools beyond the generic answer of "go to Asia or the Middle East" where I could not only save a decent amount of my salary living frugally, but also live somewhere that is safe for my wife and young son. Any thoughts or suggestions would be greatly appreciated! Thanks.
PsyGuy

More

Post by PsyGuy »

Since your asking for specifics, you need to give us a better idea of your savings expectations and your definition of 'safe'?
Being from Colorado I take it you have a Cali perspective and lifestyle?
WeDoDude

Post by WeDoDude »

Japan is as safe as you can get. It's expensive to live in, but if all you do is go to the amazing parks they have for kids (most free), don't own a car and use public transportation, you could save a little.

I've been to Thailand, it's pretty safe and cheap. Also Korea is pretty safe and cheap.

Have you heard of DoDEA? It's the Department of Defense Education Activity. It's basically public school for active duty, dod civilian/contractors, stationed/living overseas. The pay is great. The benefits are better and you can save a ton of money. It's tough to get into, but we have schools on military bases all over the world including Japan, Korea, Spain, Germany and Italy, among others. Check us out at DoDEA.edu and good luck.
DCgirl

Post by DCgirl »