Have been lurking, thought it was time to ask a ?

idntknw

Have been lurking, thought it was time to ask a ?

Post by idntknw »

Hello All,

Newbie here. I know it is asked a lot but what do you think my chances are to secure a position at an international school for the 2013-2014 school year?

About me:
- Certified Teacher (Texas) in Special Education EC-12, Generalist EC-6, Science 4-8
- One year teaching, 2012-2013 will be my 2nd year.

- I am a Special Education teacher in an Elementary School. I have two parts to my job. I teach resource classes and teach a pull out program. Most of my day is spent in 30 minute pull-out classes (Math and English, reading and writing) to support students who are below grade level but in the general education classroom. I work with students in K-5. I do not work with students with severe disabilities such as Down's Syndrome.

- I have a Bachelor's and Master's in Social Work. I worked for 6 years in social work with children and families. Five of those years were in London, UK.

Personal info:
- 34 years old, married for 10 years, 2 children (ages 4 and 18 months)
- My wife is a stay at home mom and will be at least until both kids are in full time school.

What I am looking for:
- A position in learning support (I think this may be the equivalent to special ed at many international schools and what I basically do at my school) or a general education classroom.
- We are willing to relocate anywhere except Western Europe or Saudi Arabia. Would prefer somewhere in Asia.
- To make a career out of international teaching and not just a one off two year job.

Does it help that we have lived overseas for an extended period of time? My family is fully supportive and wants to do this also.

Sorry about the length, I just wanted to anticipate some questions. I look forward to your responses and participating in this forum!
PsyGuy

Lurking

Post by PsyGuy »