Another Admin Advancement Scenario

UM2001

Another Admin Advancement Scenario

Post by UM2001 »

My question centers on the likelihood of obtaining a junior level admin appointment at a Tier II or even Tier I with no international experience, but a good deal of experience stateside.

I am currently an IB Coordinator (MYP and DP) in a robust program (450 students and growing). I also facilitate the AP Program at our school. I have been doing this for three years and have program review and WASC accred. experience. Prior to coordination, I taught Humanities in both the MYP and DP and would be open to a partial return to the classroom.

My wife is an IB Maths teacher with experience in MYP and DP. She is also an instructional coach with our district helping teachers develop curriculum and assessments.

Any advice or thoughts would be greatly appreciated.
hallier

Post by hallier »

When I think about the international schools where I have worked, IB coordinator positions have tended to be filled internally.

If by Tier 1,2 we are thinking about IB schools such as Western Academy Beijing, New Int School Thailand etc, I would think there would be a lot of teachers within those schools who would be competing hard for a promotion to admin.

Having said that, you and your wife are an attractive package deal.

It may be the case that you need to do a 3 year stint in a smaller school first to get into the system.

All the best - as I said, on paper, you and your wife make a very good team.
PsyGuy

Depends

Post by PsyGuy »

An elite school no. They usually advance/recruit internally. A tier 1 school maybe (depends on region), it would most likely have to be a real American school with an IB program, which would be the best case scenario. A tier 2 school is very realistic, and you will find 3rd tier schools that willsnap you in a heart beat.