What's a reasonable expectation?

moose

What's a reasonable expectation?

Post by moose »

I have been teaching in the States for 14 years at a wonderful school. While I am happy, I've had a desire to travel and teach abroad for years, so my family and I are beginning the search for a new place to call home. I have excellent references, and my school is willing to grant me a leave of absence, which offers me some security to return.

My concern is this: I have a trailing spouse and 2 elementary-aged children. I know that can be a deal-breaker for some schools. However, other friends who've taught abroad have told me it may not matter, as I teach secondary mathematics, which is in demand. (I also have experience teaching in my minor, history.) I do have a Master's degree, but no IB experience.

What is a reasonable expectation for my family? Do you believe we will struggle to find a position, or is 3 dependents truly a stumbling block? (We currently live on one income, so this would not be new for us.)

I appreciate your feedback.
tdaley26

Post by tdaley26 »

I can only give you my own experience. I was in a situation much like yours. wife and 3 kids , satisfied in the us, but hoping for an overseas job. I started applying for jobs in December, put out about 20 or so, got 5 or six interviews and 3 job offers. There will be some on this site who will advise you not to be fussy as to location, i disagree. When you have children you have to consider the environment they will be in. I think you have a reasonable chance landing a decent position, though i think you may be a little late in applying for this year.
moose

Post by moose »

Thanks for the advice. I'm not applying for this year--looking at the 2013-14 year. I'm really in the process of researching places and procedures right now, and getting all of personal stuff in order here. (House ready to go on the market, reduce our sheer volume of stuff, and so on. It's amazing how much junk 4 people accumulate!)