question about teaching credential

redcats

question about teaching credential

Post by redcats »

Hi,
I have been teaching for several years in Los Angeles, but for various reasons I won't get into, I haven't finished getting my clear credential. To clarify: In California, you get a preliminary credential first, then have to do two years of "induction" to turn it into a clear credential. Then you have to renew your clear every few years. If you don't finish induction within 5 years of getting the prelim, the prelim expires. I still have 2 years (out of the 5) to get finish my induction, and I have done the first year. The trouble is, I have been working part time and my district won't put me in the induction program unless I am full time. I'm not sure I can find a full-time job in CA--it's really ugly here right now in terms of job searches for people in social science.

Anyway, this is my question:
Would my prelim expiring affect my eligibility to work at international schools?
Let's say I got a job teaching at an international school this year. Would that mean I'd only be able to keep the job for two years, until my credential expires?
Or is what matters that I got credentialed in the first place--do they care about expiration dates?

Thanks!
wrldtrvlr123

Re: question about teaching credential

Post by wrldtrvlr123 »

[quote="redcats"]Hi,