Certification vs. Master's Degree

Me

Certification vs. Master's Degree

Post by Me »

I have been teaching ESL at an International school for 3 years. I am ESL certified, but I am not a licensed teacher in the U.S. I taught at 2 other schools (unaccredited) prior to this one. I would like to move from teaching ESL to teaching in the mainstream elementary classroom. I have been working on my Master?s degree in Education and have taken advantage of all of the professional development activities that I could.
We are thinking of moving on next year, but I am worried that I will have a difficult time finding a position without licensure. We thought about going back to the U.S. so I can complete a teacher training program, but we would really rather not do this.
Will some schools hire me with just a Master?s degree?
Are there any programs where I can get licensure without returning to the US?
If it helps, we are a teaching couple who have lived and taught abroad for 5 years in 2 different countries. My spouse is a licensed high school teacher and will also have a Master?s of Education.
anon ESL teacher

question/comment

Post by anon ESL teacher »

I am also an ESL teacher who is certified in the U.S. and has a M.Ed degree (in Tesol). Please clarify your situation with being certified, but not a licensed teacher in the U.S. Are you not certifed as a K-12 ESL teacher in the state you are from? I know states recognize ESL certification differently - a stand-alone degree and certification or some add-on certitification or credential. Explain your situation. Will this degree you are working on lead to certification (or help you get) in the U.S. state that this university is in?