more advice for someone new to this

teacherleah

more advice for someone new to this

Post by teacherleah »

Hi all. I am new to the forum and I can see that a few people have asked for advice about whether or not it's feasible to try and get into international teaching. I'd like some advice about if my experience and qualifications are strong enough to provide opportunities?

I have five years of Elementary teaching experience as a Special Education resource teacher (I have worked with students with learning disabilities, ADHD, and emotional/behavioral disturbances) and as a teacher of all subjects.

I am certified EC-8 as a Generalist, EC-12 Special Ed, Gifted and Talented, and ESL (I am the ESL contact on my campus).

I have some experience traveling abroad to Central America and Mexico. I love to travel in general and recently completed a bike trip down the coast of Oregon and Washington State.

I have a non-teaching spouse who will be TESOL certified and able to find his own job.

I have a Bachelor of Arts degree in English Literature.

I do not have children.

I do not have my sights set on teaching at a Tier 1 school. I'd ideally work in southeast Asia--Thailand, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Malaysia, etc.

I want to make enough money to be able to travel some and to save some. My spouse and I currently live very frugally, do not own cars or technology, so my financial needs are not sky high, but I would like to match what I make currentlly ($44,300).

Is my dream possible?
Even with a non-teaching spouse and no IB experience?

Thank you!
mathgym

Post by mathgym »