Warning Signs : Tips & Advice

Zsejanko

Warning Signs : Tips & Advice

Post by Zsejanko »

Many of us are veterans in the international teaching circuit. I am personally not one of them as I have only had 8 years of international teaching experience. I thought it would be helpful to list down some of the "warning signs" that you noticed first offhand about the school during that interview that made you back away. It could help many of the new teachers out there who are willing to take a step into the international teaching circuit.

Let me start with some of mine:

1) CONTRACT IS NOT READY
Upon offer, the Head stated that the contract will be delivered / mailed within two weeks. The question in my head was, " I wonder what will take so long to finalise details when he just verbally stated what I would be getting? "

2) HIGH TURN OVER
I think it's safe to ask the director the question about turn over rates. When their eyes shift and they give you a vague answer of " I don't have the exact statistics or numbers right now ", then you know that there's a problem. Any well managing, responsible director would KNOW the turn over rate...because it would be fairly low.

3) SALES PITCH
The interview is starting to sound like a sales pitch ( focusing more on the beauty, appeal of the country, activities to do, fun stuff that foreign expat teachers get into...which usually means EXTREMELY LOW SALARY. There is nothing really wrong with a low salary for those who don't consider money as important in their career. If I was 21 years old and just licensed, then why not...but for those who are considering on building a career, the low salary might not be the way to go.

4) DIRECTOR / HEAD OR PRINCIPAL DOES NOT RECOGNISE SPECIAL NEEDS STUDENTS