A little advice?

danamu

A little advice?

Post by danamu »

Hello. My name is D and I am just embarking on the crazy pursuit of an international school job. I realize that a lot of newbies post on this forum, all with a million questions and their own unique situation, but I am hoping that one of you "veterans" will take a minute to read my posting.

Still with me? Awesome. Basically, I am wondering if I stand a chance to get an offer with an international school. In lieu of writing my personal history here, I'll just do a little pro/con listing. Here goes:

Pros:
1. I have my B.A. and M.A. (in politics) from a U.S. university
2. I am young (26- not sure if that is a "pro" or not) and unmarried. No dependents.
3. I have been working in South Korea for the past 4 years teaching ESL (2 years elementary, 2 years university)
4. I am currently pursuing an Idaho teaching certification (endorsement in secondary English language arts)
5. I have a CELTA certificate
6. I am well-travelled and have lived in 5 different countries (U.S., Palestine/Israel, India, South Korea, and Poland)
7. I speak advanced-level Spanish and Korean (I was hoping that my Korean might help me, as there tend to be a lot of Korean students in international schools in Asia)
8. I graduated college early (M.A. in hand at 20), and then started working. As a result, I have a diverse work history prior to my entrance into the teaching profession. I worked for a year in journalism in the West Bank, and for a year in the nonprofit industry in Utah.
9. I am willing to go anywhere. Really, anywhere. Bangladesh? Cameroon? Mindanao? Nebraska? (Does Nebraska have an international school? haha) Bring it on!
10. I don't mind starting out at a "tier 2" school.

Cons:
1. I have no international school teaching experience.
2. I don't expect to have my teaching certification in hand until spring 2013 :(