No IB training...doomed?

musings28

No IB training...doomed?

Post by musings28 »

Is there anybody out there who went to a Search fair, or got a job offer through Search, and had no IB training?

Just wondering...I'm thinking this is gonna be tricky (gulp). What do you recommend, if the answer is negative?

Thanks guys
marlow

IB Training

Post by marlow »

My first job fair was at UNI in 2000; at the time I was a young teacher with no IB experience, and I was lucky enough to get a job at a good school. In the five years I was there I was able to be trained for two different courses on the school's dime. So yes, in my experience, it is possible, but I would also offer the caveat that job fairs were a lot different in 2000 than in 2012.

I think it's possible, but you might end up at a tier-2 school at first. Having said that, once you get IB experience, more doors are open. One possible avenue for you would be to pay for the training yourself and then place that certification on your resume. I've had friends who approached job fairs with that strategy, and it paid off.
buffalofan

Post by buffalofan »

There are schools at SEARCH fairs who don't do IB anyway. If you are talking about getting into an IB school with no IB training, yes this is possible. Some schools will make you an offer that is contingent on you going through IB training (you pay) before arriving at the school. There are also schools who will train you at their expense. I agree with the other poster that it will probably not be a top tier IB school, but the experience may open up many doors.
durianfan

Post by durianfan »