Dependant wife, four kids. Is there any chance anywhere?

cbarr38

Dependant wife, four kids. Is there any chance anywhere?

Post by cbarr38 »

Hi there

I'm a noob to this site and I've been impressed by the helpful posts I've read so far so I thought I'd take a stab and post my question. Do you think there is even a skerrick of a chance I could land a job in an international school?

[u]My career so far
13 years as a qualified teacher.
11 of those in Australian three government high schools teaching English and History.
6 of those as Head of Department - Social Sciences (History, Geography, Economics, Legal Studies, Languages) in two different schools.
2 years teaching English in Brunei government school.
State panellist for history - means I'm one of six people in the state of QLD who moderates all history assessment - a kind of big deal but hard to make sound sexy
Curriculum writer for Australian government department

[u]My academic qualifications[/u]
PhD candidate at a world class Australian university
Master of Education (TESOL)
Master of Environmental Education (1st class honours)
Bachelor of Education (English & History)
Published articles on TESOL, History, Environmental Education in a handful of internationally refereed academic journals

[u]The catch?[/u]
One lovely wife (currently studying BEd) and four beautiful kids (two school age). I really want to take them with me

What do you think? Let me down gently.

Kind regards!
ichiro

Post by ichiro »

deleted
Last edited by ichiro on Fri May 04, 2012 3:32 am, edited 1 time in total.
Open Communication

Post by Open Communication »

I know a North American with 3 children and a non-teaching wife working at a fairly good international school in Asia. So, the answer is 'yes'. And when your wife is finished her B. Ed then your chances and opportunities will go through the roof. Hang in there and good luck.
JISAlum

Post by JISAlum »